Nepal Travel News


Taking place for the second time in Nepal, a challenging trail run offering three ...

International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day

International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day is celebrated on May 29 every year to mark the fi...

View All News

Peak Climbing in Nepal

Peak Climbing is a challenging adventure that requires some technical skill and previous experience. Most of the peaks require a minimum of two days to climb and can take as long as three weeks. Since 1978 the Nepal Mountaineering Association NMA has had the authority to issue permission for small-scale attempts on 18 peaks. The Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) has categorized the mountains of Nepal into various classifications, one of these being called trekking peak or Group B Climbing Peak as per the NMA. A trekking peak is a mountain under 7000 meters that is considered climbable by anyone with a moderate amount of mountaineering experience and skills. While some can be climbed without crampons or an ice axe, most require use of this equipment. In order to attempt a trekking peak, a climbing permit (non-refundable) must be obtained from the NMA in Kathmandu.

NMA Peaks

Group "A" NMA Peaks

01. Mt. Cholatse 6440 m. 
02. Mt. Machermo 6237 m. 
03. Mt. Kyazo Ri 6186 m. 
04. Mt. Nirekha 6186 m. 
05. Mt. Langsisa Ri 6427 m. 
06. Mt. Ombigaichen 6340 m. 
07. Mt. Bokta 6143 m. 
08. Mt. Chekijo 6257 m. 
09. Mt. Phari Lapcha 6017 m. 
10. Mt. Lobuche West 6145 m. 
11. Mt. Larkya Peak 6249 m. 
12. Mt. ABI 6097 m. 
13. Mt. Yubra Himal 6035 m. 
14. Mt. Yala 5732 m.
15. Mt. Chhukung Ri 5550 m. 

Group ‘A’
1-7 Members US$ 500 + US$ 100 for each additional climber up to 12 person.
Garbage Deposit US$ 250

Group "B" NMA Peaks

1. Shigu Chuli (fluted peak) 6501 m.
2. Mera Peak 6654 m. 
3. Kusum Kangru 6367 m.
4. Kwangde 6011 m.
5. Chulu West 6419  m. 
6. Imja-tse (Island Peak) 6189 m. 
7. Pharchamo 6187 m. 
8. Lobuche 6119 m. 
9. Ramdung 5925 m. 
10. Pisang 6091 m. 
11. Tharpu Chuli (Tent Peak) 5663 m. 
12. Khongma-tse (Mehara Peak) 5849 m. 
13. Ganja-la Chuli (Naya Kanga) 5844 m. 
14. Pokhalde 5806 m. 
15. Mardi Himal 5587 m. 
16. Paldor 5896 m. 
17. Hiunchuli 6441 m.
18. Chulu East 6584 m. 

Group ‘B’
1-4 climbers US$ 350 + US$ 40 for each additional climber up to 8 persons.
9 climbers US$ 535 + US$ 25 for each additional climber up to 12 person.
Garbage Deposit US$ 250
Note: Maximum number of members in team is 12.


Affiliated with following Organization

Copyright © Himalayan Experts. All Right Reserved.
Site Design By: Webdesigninnepal

Our Social Networks

Stumbleupon Linkedin